Home MLB Network / Extra Innings Results of 2011 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot on MLB Network, MLB.com

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 884 guests online

Atom RSS

Results of 2011 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot on MLB Network, MLB.com Print
User Rating: / 361
Written by Maury Brown   
Wednesday, 05 January 2011 08:47

MLB NetworkThe results of the 2011 National Baseball Hall of Fame ballot will be announced on MLB Network and simulcast on MLB.com on Wednesday, January 5 at 2:00 p.m. ET as part of a 90-minute announcement show beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET. Featuring National Baseball Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson, coverage will feature interviews with the newest inductees and be anchored by Greg Amsinger and Matt Vasgersian, with analysis from MLB Network’s Bob Costas, Hall of Fame award-winning baseball writer Peter Gammons, Harold Reynolds and Hall of Fame voters Tom Verducci and Jon Heyman. Costas, Gammons, Reynolds, Vasgersian, Verducci and Heyman will then recap the 2011 Hall of Fame ballot results during the hour-long show Class of 2011 at 9:00 p.m. ET and look ahead to the 2011 induction ceremony on July 24 on MLB Network.

The Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) Hall of Fame ballot features 33 players, including 14 holdovers from previous elections, including Bert Blyleven, Roberto Alomar, Jack Morris and Barry Larkin, and 19 newcomers. Longtime MLB executive Pat Gillick, who built three World Series championship teams, has already been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Expansion Era Committee, while Dave Van Horne, who has spent the last 42 seasons calling play-by-play for the Montreal Expos and the Florida Marlins, was selected as the 2011 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting. Philadelphia journalist Bill Conlin was elected the 2011 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award presented annually to a sportswriter for "meritorious contributions to baseball writing.”

The 2011 election marks the 68th Hall of Fame election held by the BBWAA. Any candidate receiving votes on 75 percent of the ballots will earn election to the Hall of Fame. Eligible voters are members of the BBWAA with at least ten years of service and who remain in good standing. Candidates who receive between 5 and 74.9 percent of the vote will return to the BBWAA ballot in 2012 unless they have exhausted their 15-year eligibility window. Candidates who receive fewer than 5 percent of the vote will be no longer eligible for BBWAA Hall of Fame elections.

Source: MLB Network

Maury BrownMaury Brown is the Founder and President of the Business of Sports Network, which includes The Biz of Baseball, The Biz of Football, The Biz of Basketball and The Biz of Hockey, as well as a contributor to FanGraphs and Forbes SportsMoney. He is available for hire or freelance. Brown's full bio is here. He looks forward to your comments via email and can be contacted through the Business of Sports Network.

Follow Maury Brown on Twitter Twitter

Follow The Biz of Baseball on Twitter Twitter

FacebookFollow the Business of Sports Network on Facebook



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?