Home MLB News Winter Meetings Buzz: Herzog, Doug Harvey Elected to HOF, Marvin Miller Snubbed

Like Shoot to Thrill - An AC/DC Tribute on Facebook!

An authentic tribute of AC/DC that covers the best of the Bon Scott era and the best of Brian Johnson's material

Who's Online?

We have 1201 guests online

Atom RSS

Winter Meetings Buzz: Herzog, Doug Harvey Elected to HOF, Marvin Miller Snubbed PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 3
Written by Maury Brown   
Monday, 07 December 2009 10:34

Baseball Winter Meetings

NOTE: The Biz of Baseball will be reporting on the ground from Indianapolis for this year's Baseball Winter Meetings. From the media room to the Trade Show, we'll have you covered on The Biz of Baseball and via Twitter.

It was just announced from the winter meetings that the veterans committee has elected umpire Doug Harvey and Cardinals manager Whitey Herzog to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Said Commissioner Selig of the voting results, "I am very pleased that the Veterans Committee has elected Doug Harvey and Whitey Herzog to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Doug set a very high standard for the umpires of his generation and those who followed. Whitey had a great impact on our game, managing consistently winning teams with a unique combination of speed and defense. I congratulate both Whitey and Doug on this highest honor and I look forward to their induction on July 25th.”

Results of the 2009 Managers/Umpires Ballot (12 votes needed for election):

  • Doug Harvey (15 votes, 93.8 percent)
  • Whitey Herzog (14 votes, 87.5 percent)
  • Danny Murtaugh (8 votes, 50 percent)
  • Hank O’Day (8 votes, 50 percent)
  • Charlie Grimm (3 votes, 18.8%)
  • Davey Johnson, Tom Kelly, Billy Martin, Gene Mauch and Steve O’Neill each received less than 3 votes.

While Harvey and Herzog were elected by the Managers and Umpires committee, no executives reached the requisite 75 percent of the vote for inclusion in the 2010 class by way of the Veterans Committee for Executives and Pioneers. That would include former MLBPA executive director Marvin Miller who received 7 of 12 votes. The highest vote receiver as an executive was former Tigers owner John Fetzer who garnered 8 of 12.

Complete committee results of the 2009 Executives/Pioneers Ballot (9 votes needed for election):

  • John Fetzer (8 votes, 66.7%)
  • Marvin Miller (7 votes, 58.3%)
  • Jacob Ruppert (7 votes, 58.3%)
  • Ewing Kauffman (6 votes, 50 percent)
  • Gene Autry, Sam Breadon, Bob Howsam, John McHale, Gabe Paul and Bill White each received less than 3 votes.






Maury BrownMaury Brown is the Founder and President of the Business of Sports Network, which includes The Biz of Baseball, The Biz of Football, The Biz of Basketball and The Biz of Hockey. He is available for hire or freelance. Brown's full bio is here. He looks forward to your comments via email and can be contacted through the Business of Sports Network.

Don't forget to register and log in on The Biz of Baseball site to get updates via your in-box, and see information only logged in members can see.

Follow Maury Brown on Twitter Twitter

Follow The Biz of Baseball on Twitter Twitter

FacebookFollow the Business of Sports Network on Facebook



Should MLB Force Jeffery Loria to Sell the Marlins?